Rollover FAQs

These FAQs are based on EfL 4.5.4

The FAQs give an overview of what CAN and CAN’T be done with your System Data (learners, groups, frameworks, tags, date ranges and comment templates), Evidence and PDF files on the device and in the Cloud.  Alternatively follow the link below for a step by step method to rollover…

 

FAQs for Cloud Subscriptions

Firstly, a quick recap on some basic rules about your Evidence, PDF reports and Data…

 

With a Cloud Subscription, Evidence will reside either on one of your devices OR in Cloud. It will never be in both places!

Likewise, inside the app, PDF reports (grids and documents) will also reside either on one of your devices OR in Cloud. They will never be in both places!

 

How do I delete System Data on each device?

Deleting System Data from the device can be done via the Device Admin screen accessed by tapping the ‘Settings’ button in the top left of the main launch screen.

  • A device will NOT allow you to delete a Learner if there PDFs or Evidence on the device belonging to that learner that isn’t yet in the Cloud, so you’ll need to EITHER save the Evidence and PDFs to the Cloud or delete the unwanted Evidence and PDFs first.
  • A device will NOT allow you to delete a Tag from a device if it is used in any Evidence on the device that isn’t yet in the Cloud, so you will need to EITHER save the Evidence to the Cloud, delete the Evidence or remove the Tag from the Evidence.
  • A device will not let you delete a Framework from a device if it is used in any Evidence on the device that isn’t yet saved in the Cloud, so you will need to EITHER save the Evidence to the Cloud, delete the Evidence or remove the Frameworks from the Evidence.
  • You CAN safely delete Comment Templates at any time, your Evidence will not be affected in any way.
  • You CAN safely delete Date Ranges at any time, your Evidence will not be affected in any way.

How do I delete System Data in the Cloud?

Deleting System Data from the Cloud can be done from the Cloud Admin screen accessed by tapping the ‘Settings’ button in the top left of the main launch screen then tap the Cloud Admin button in the top right.

  • You CANNOT delete Learners in the Cloud.  This is a safety precaution to prevent accidental and unrecoverable data loss.  We suggest adding ‘Leavers’ to a group called ‘Leavers 2016’.  They will remain in your cloud as will their evidence, but you’ll be able to remove them from your devices, so you won’t see them day to day.  If your learners are simply moving to a different class, group, room, key worker then simply rename the current group they are in or create a new one.
  • You can delete a Group, and that will delete the Group from any device using it, however it will not delete and Learners from the device.
  • You can’t delete Frameworks in the cloud that are used in Evidence. If you delete an unused Framework ensure it has been deleted from each device too.
  • You can delete a Date Ranges, and that will delete the Date Range from any device using it.
  • You can’t delete Tags in the cloud that are used in Evidence.  When you delete a Tag in the Cloud it will delete from each device using it.
  • You can delete a Comment Template, and that will delete the Comment Template from any device using it.

How do I delete Evidence from each device?

  • Most of your Evidence should be in the Cloud, but you may have some on your device if you have drafts not yet saved to the Cloud or you have poor connectivity to the internet.
  • Save any Evidence you want to keep to the Cloud before you delete Evidence from the device.
  • You can delete Evidence one by one when editing the Evidence.
  • You can ‘bulk delete’ Evidence from the device using the ‘Delete Evidence’ tool in the Device Admin screen.
  • There is no Undo.  Caution: Once you delete Evidence, it will be permanently deleted.

How do I delete Evidence from the Cloud?

  • You can delete Evidence from the Cloud when editing it.
  • There is no undo.Caution: Once you delete Evidence, it will be permanently deleted.
  • Deleting evidence from the Cloud will also remove it from the Parent Portal.

How do I delete PDF reports from each device?

  • You can delete PDFs from the Learner Profile screen or the Files screen (tap Reports from the main launch screen and then tap Files in the top right).

How do I delete PDF reports from the Cloud?

  • You can delete PDFs from the Cloud Learner Profile screen.
  • Deleting PDF reports from the Cloud will also remove them from the Parent Portal.
  • Deleted PDFs are sent to the Recycle Bin.
  • Open the Recycle Bin to permanently delete a PDF, empty the recycle bin or restore an individual PDF.

Parent Portal notes:

  • It’s a good time to review your Parent Accounts and either leave them ‘on’ or switch them ‘off’.  They are not automatically switched off.
  • Deleting a PDF file in the Cloud for a Learner will delete it from the Parent Portal too.  It is the same PDF file.
  • Deleting Evidence in the Cloud for a Learner will delete it from the Parent Portal too.  It’s the same Evidence.

Should I delete and reinstall the App?

  • If you delete the app ALL data in the app on that device will be deleted too.
  • Any data in the cloud will remain safely stored in the cloud.
  • You will need to Activate your Subscription again using the same DeviceID and password/licence codes.
  • You will need to ‘pair’ the device with your Cloud again.

Device Manager & App Updates:

  • Use the Device Manager to help show which version each device is using and upgrade accordingly
  • Use the Device Manager to help show which devices have evidence not saved to the cloud.

Add (new) System Data:

  • Remember when adding new system data to your Cloud you need to first put the device into Admin Role, add your data and then pair the device to push the new data to the Cloud, remembering to switch back to Educator Role when complete.
  • If you have a new Learner with the same name as an existing Learner, you can use the Unique Reference field to differentiate the Learners.  The Unique Reference is displayed whenever you need to pick a Learner.

 

FAQs for Standalone Subscriptions and PAYG users

How do I delete System Data on each device?

Deleting System Data from the device can be done via the Device Admin screen accessed by tapping the ‘Settings’ button in the top left of the main launch screen.

  • A device will NOT allow you to delete a Learner if it has PDFs or Evidence belonging to that learner, so you’ll need to either save the Evidence and PDFs to the Cloud or delete the unwanted Evidence and PDFs first.
  • A device will NOT allow you to delete a Tag from a device if it is used in any Evidence, so you will need to delete the Evidence or remove the Tag from the Evidence.
  • A device will NOT allow you to delete a Framework from a device if it is used in any Evidence, so you will need to delete the Evidence or remove the Frameworks from the Evidence.
  • You CAN safely delete Comment Templates at any time, your Evidence will not be affected in any way.
  • You CAN safely delete Date Ranges at any time, your Evidence will not be affected in any way.

How do I delete Evidence from each device?

  • You can delete Evidence one by one when editing the Evidence.
  • You can ‘bulk delete’ Evidence from the device using the ‘Delete Evidence’ tool in the Device Admin screen.
  • There is no Undo.

How do I delete PDF reports from the Device?

  • You can delete PDFs from the Learner Profile screen or the Files screen. [Tap ‘Reports’ from the main launch screen and then tap ‘Files’ in the top right.]

Should I delete and reinstall the App?

  • If you delete the app All data will be deleted too.
  • You will need to Activate your Subscription again using the same DeviceID and licence codes.

Add Data:

  • If you have a new Learner with the same name as an existing Learner, you can use the Unique Reference field to differentiate the Learners.  The Unique Reference is displayed whenever you need to pick a Leaner.

Backup your Data

Evidence data is very valuable and is typically collected over a long period of time.  Mobile devices are susceptible to damage, loss or theft.  Please consider backing up your devices regularly.

iCloud/iTunes Backups:

  • Starting over is a great time to review your device backup strategy and check all is working as it should be.
  • We recommend backing up your devices to Apple iTunes or Apple iCloud on a regular basis.

Need Help

If you need any help please feel free to ask for help.

 

Summary
Article Name
Evidence for Learning Tutorial: Rollover FAQs
Description
Tutorial: Learn how to rollover, tidy up and reset Evidence for Learning ready for the new intake.
Author